Skip to content

空气质量、Covid-19和光谱学

Satellites Orbit Earth Taking Pulse

当卫星绕地球运行,监测我们星球的健康状况时,人们对新冠疫情对大气排放造成的影响很有兴趣。

欧洲航天局的哨兵-5P上有一个成像光谱仪,可以精确测量来自地球表面的上升流。通过分析这种反射光的光谱含量,可以生成对环境重要的气体的对流层浓度图。

其中一种气体是二氧化氮,这是一种由工业,发电厂,运输和森林火灾等来源燃烧化石燃料产生的关键污染物。

Industrial Emissions

城市污染与新冠疫情

2020年报告了二氧化氮浓度的重大变化,特别是在主要城市周围。这些差异至少部分归因于COVID-19封锁期间车辆交通和工业活动的减少。最近,欧洲航空局对中国上空二氧化氮水平的一项研究报告称,随着封锁限制的放松,二氧化氮水平有所反弹。

大气化学中的因果关系是复杂的,很少是线性的。例如,由于天气的变化,二氧化氮的浓度每天都在变化。 到2020年,在欧洲城市的时均数据中也可以看到大气层的减少。现在,研究人员预计,随着各行业活动的恢复,整个欧洲的二氧化氮水平将上升。

不同研究所的科学家们将对这个最不寻常的时期的宝贵数据进行进一步的分析。

DOAS:差分吸收光谱

地面测量为城市污染模型提供了有价值的数据,它是一种跨大气尺度校准的方法,解决了仅靠卫星数据难以解决的异质性问题。

海洋光学光谱仪经常用于此类测量,典型的方法是基于光谱学方法测量空气污染,称为差分光学吸光度光谱(DOAS)。这种海上废气排放应用是DOAS技术在实践中的一个很好的例子,但是我们的光谱仪也以这种方式用于火山排放分析等应用。

DOAS最初是由德国海德堡大学环境物理研究所的Ulrich Platt教授提出的。DOAS系统可以采取多种形式,但基本前提是研究特定气体分子的窄带吸收特性,以确定本体气体成分。通过测量和比较不同的光程,可以推导出目标分子的相对浓度。进一步通过校准可以计算出绝对浓度。

DOAS可用于监测城市、地下通道和工业矿山中的有害气体。该方法原理及结构简单、响应速度快、精度高。颗粒物和水蒸气对测量的影响可通过过滤或准确选择参考来解决,这对于监测烟气排放等非常有帮助。

 

Smoking volcano emissions

DOAS: 设备和应用

世界各地的许多机构都开发了基于DOAS技术的超低排放监测设备。这种DOAS设备的核心是紫外-可见光谱仪。

海洋光学客户已将我们的紫外-课件光谱仪用于各种DOAS应用中,仪器部署在测量对流层卤素,NOx和SOx,火山发射,极性大气化学和工业排放的系统中。在中国,许多知名企业积极进入该领域并取得了良好的成绩。

DOAS:监测NOx, SOx ...

氮和硫的氧化物 - 所谓的NOx和SOx - 是非常重要的大气气体,在光谱的紫外和可见光区域具有吸收光谱。通过使用宽带紫外光谱仪和宽带氙或氘灯光源,可以在感兴趣的光程下同时测量多种气体物种。这避免了使用调谐到单个气体的特定吸光度的激光器的需要,是另一种流行的用于较小分子的气体监测技术。

无论是为DOAS提供光谱仪还是为其他监测解决方案,海洋光学的光谱仪都有幸在研究人类活动对空气质量和环境的方面发挥一小部分作用。我们的使命是提供光谱工具和专业知识来监测空气、水和土壤样本,为研究人员、政府监管机构和制造商提供必要的见解,以保护和维护清洁、健康的环境。

相关产品

可选产品编号

牢固耐用的预配置版Flame UV-VIS光谱仪,用于紫外-可见光 (200-850 nm) 测量

价格范围 $3,931.00

您可能感兴趣...

ship with smoke stacks

在极端海洋条件下获取污染数据,让我们呼吸的空气更清洁

从紫外到近红外波长,吸光度测量提供了所有物质状态下材料化学成分的相关信息。了解如何使用吸光度来鉴别物质或测量分子的浓度。

相关阅读

Our World Class Experts Are Ready To Help

您是否已经做好准备探索海洋光学来帮助您解锁未知?

我们的应用专家可针对您棘手问题,帮助您找到答案。

联系我们

Skip to content

Air Quality, COVID-19 and Spectroscopy

Satellites Orbit Earth Taking Pulse

As satellites orbit the Earth, monitoring the health of our planet, the effects of the pandemic on atmospheric emissions are observed with great interest.

One of these satellites, the European Space Agency’s Copernicus Sentinel-5P, has an imaging spectrometer on board making accurate measurements of upwelling light from the Earth’s surface. By analyzing the spectral content of this reflected light, tropospheric concentration maps of environmentally significant gases can be generated.

One such gas is nitrogen dioxide, a key pollutant generated by the burning of fossil fuels from sources including industrial installations, power plants, transportation, and forest fires.

Industrial Emissions

Urban Pollution and COVID-19

Significant changes in levels of nitrogen dioxide, particularly around major cities, were reported in 2020. These differences were attributed, at least in part, to the reduction in vehicle traffic and industrial activity during COVID-19 lockdowns. More recently, an ESA study of nitrogen dioxide levels over China reports that levels have rebounded as lockdown restrictions have relaxed. 

Cause-and-effect relationships in atmospheric chemistry are complex and rarely linear. For example, concentrations of nitrogen dioxide are known to vary a great deal from day to day due to changes in weather.  Atmospheric reductions were also visible in 2020 in time-averaged data across European cities. Now, researchers anticipate that nitrogen dioxide levels will rise across Europe as pre-pandemic activities resume.

Further analysis will be forthcoming as scientists across a range of institutes study the valuable data that has come from this most extraordinary of periods.

DOAS: The Spectroscopy of Air Pollution

Ground-based measurements contribute valuable data to urban pollution models, providing a means to calibrate across atmospheric scales and to address heterogeneities that can be challenging to resolve by satellite data alone.

Ocean Insight spectrometers are often specified for such measurements, with the typical approach a spectroscopic method of measuring air pollution called Differential Optical Absorbance Spectroscopy (DOAS). This maritime exhaust emissions application is a good example of the DOAS technique in practice, but our spectrometers also have been used this way for fenceline monitoring and volcanic emissions analysis.

DOAS was first proposed by Prof. Ulrich Platt of the Institute of Environmental Physics, Heidelberg University, Germany. DOAS systems can take many forms, but the basic premise is to investigate the narrowband absorption characteristics of particular gas molecules to determine bulk gas composition. By measuring and comparing different optical pathlengths, the relative concentrations of target molecules can be derived. Further calibration allows for the calculation of absolute concentrations.

DOAS can be used to monitor harmful gases in cities, underground passages, and industrial mines. The method has the advantages of simple principle, simple structure, fast response, and high precision. The influence of particulate matter and water vapor on the measurement is accounted for by means of filtering and careful referencing, which is very helpful for the monitoring of flue gas emissions, for example.

Smoking volcano emissions

DOAS: Equipment and Applications

Many institutions around the world have developed ultra-low emission monitoring equipment based on DOAS technology. At the heart of this DOAS equipment is a UV-Visible spectrometer.

Ocean Insight customers have used our UV-Vis spectrometers for various DOAS applications, with instruments being deployed in measurement regimes for tropospheric halogens, NOx and SOx, volcanic emissions, polar atmospheric chemistry, and industrial emissions. In China, many well-known companies have actively entered the field and achieved good results.

DOAS: Monitoring NOx, SOx and More

The oxides of nitrogen and sulfur -- so called NOx and SOx -- are an important group of atmospheric gases with absorbance spectra in the UV and Visible parts of the spectrum. By using a broadband UV spectrometer and a broadband xenon or deuterium light source it is possible to measure multiple gas species simultaneously along a pathlength of interest. This avoids the need to use lasers tuned to the specific absorbance of a single gas, another popular gas monitoring technique for smaller molecules.

Whether it’s providing spectrometers for DOAS or insight for other monitoring solutions, Ocean Insight is privileged that our spectrometers may play a small part in the global effort to understand the direct impact of human activity on air quality and the environment. Part of our mission is to offer the spectral tools, knowledge and processes to monitor air, water and soil samples, providing researchers, government regulators and manufacturers with the insight necessary to preserve and maintain a clean, healthy environment.

New Products

Options available

Robust preconfigured spectrometer for UV-Visible (200-850 nm) measurements

From $3,565.00

Options available

Preconfigured Maya2000 Pro High-Sensitivity Spectrometers

From $9,278.00

The need for timely and reliable data is growing in the maritime industry. This is driven by a desire to facilitate and accelerate continual improvement in efficiency, cost savings, environmental improvement and regulatory realities.

Finn Haugaard - Danfoss IXA

You might be interested in...

How Danfoss IXA teamed up with us on monitoring solutions to keep the air we breathe cleaner

From UV to NIR wavelengths, absorbance measurements provide information about the chemical composition of materials in all states of matter. Learn how absorbance can be used to identify substances or measure the concentration of a molecule.

The JBH team discusses its work with Ocean Insight and new frontiers in environmental optical monitoring

Additional Reading

Our World Class Experts Are Ready To Help

Are you ready to explore how Ocean Insight can help you unlock the unknown?

Our world-class experts are available to help find answers to your toughest questions.

Get in touch